You know now, so what are you going to do about it?

Hello wonderful people.

So here I am again, blogging.

Today I’m on a mission to broaden your knowledge and expose you to something you may have never considered. READ ON.

We live in a world full of different cultures, races and traditions but how much of this do any of us really experience? If you’re anything like me then you’ve not experienced very much at all. As I’ve said in many of my blog posts, “you only live once“, therefore expose yourself to as much as you can before your time is up.

On the 20th of October I had the opportunity to experience something new- I attended the Launch of Deaf Unity and London Deaf Learners 2011 hosted by London Leaders.

Although I come across deaf people quite regularly I have never stopped to think about what life is like for deaf people, especially in the context of university and life after graduation. At the Deaf Learners Launch my eyes were opened.

Did you know that only 0.17% of university applicants are deaf? This is a very low number and this upsets me because there are so many intelligent deaf people who do not attend university because of a lack of support. The truth is, deaf people are very capable and should not be excluded from mainstream society because they cannot hear. THEY CAN DO EVERYTHING ELSE! I’ll give you some examples of some amazing deaf people I met at the Deaf Learners Launch.

Abdi Gas 

Abdi is a young man who has the title of a London Leader and he is deaf. Abdi has completed university and now runs his own deaf lead organisation called “Deaf Unity” and “London Deaf Learners” is his latest project. It is Abdi’s ambition to increase the number of deaf students at university and in mainstream jobs. Yes, Abdi has an uphill struggle but I believe his goal is achievable. Find out more about how Abdi plans to do this. http://deafunity.org/

Ben Fletcher

Ben is a deaf graduate who works with IBM! He studied, graduated and is now in a highly paid job with a very well know company. He stated that IBM appreciate him because he is different and can bring new ideas to the company. I like the way IBM thinks- difference is great!

Alan Murray MBE

Alan is deaf and has had careers as a solicitor, an accountant and now works in education. During his speech at the London’s Deaf Learners Launch he explained how deaf people are viewed as invisible. Deaf graduates find it very hard to get jobs as the application process is not tailored for them. He believes that deaf people should work in mainstream jobs and not only in deaf organisations. I totally agree with him.

All three of these men have achieved great things and I have decided to write this piece because I want to raise awareness for DEAF UNITY and help make Abdi’s vision come to pass. We are all equal and should be treated as such.

Please check out www.deafunity.org to find out more about the great work they are doing. There’s also the opportunity to learn sign language!

Thanks for your time and SPREAD THE WORD.

Until next time.

Crystal Debrah

http://www.crystaldebrah.com

One thought on “You know now, so what are you going to do about it?

  1. This is a really encouraging post, especially for a deafie like me. My own career in IT has, in the past, been fraught with problems and obstacles as a result of my own hearing loss, so it’s refreshing for mavericks like Abdi, Ben and Alan to not be deterred by this, and like me, to do what one can and to never give up. Your post highlights this wonderfully and succinctly. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

