High Achiever Syndrome

Hello,

Here I am again, blogging.

Although I write daily in my private journal, I am struggling to write this post because it’s personal and in some ways painful to relive. I’m of the view that you should benefit from your pain and help others too – that’s why I’m writing this post.

Back in 2016, I appeared to be successful. I had achieved so much before the age of 28 by becoming a solicitor advocate, authoring a book and winning awards for entrepreneurship. I’m proud of my achievements but looking back I was too serious, too focused and too imbalanced. I worked very hard and was riddled with stress. I couldn’t go on like this.

I had to do an analysis of my life and start making changes. I had to. My mental health was at stake.

I carved out a weekend from my busy schedule and listed what wasn’t working for me. It was a very difficult exercise because I didn’t feel I had the energy to face whatever I was about to discover.

The results of my analysis were:

  1. I wanted to be liked.
  2. I suppressed the explorer in me.
  3. I lived to please others.
  4. I placed my value in my achievements.
  5. I didn’t respect myself.
  6. I didn’t believe in myself.
  7. I was a perfectionist.
  8. I was scared of success.
  9. I compared myself to others.
  10. I was wounded and refused to love.

Over the next couple of months I’ll take you through how I dealt with each issue over the past 18 months. I hope this helps someone.

Until next time.

Crystal Debrah

Leave a Reply

